Print Friendly, PDF & Email

March 10, 2021

THE PLAYERS 2021 Caddie Competition in Memory of Bruce Edwards

Please see below for the final results from THE PLAYERS 2021 Caddie Competition in Memory of Bruce Edwards. 

2021 results:

RankCaddie NameDistancePGA TOUR Player
1Chris Rice1’2”Harold Varner III
2Yuan Liu7’3”Xinjun Zhang
3JJ Jakovac11’1”Collin Morikawa

About the competition:

THE PLAYERS Championship Caddie Competition in memory of Bruce Edwards is a closest-to-the-pin competition on Wednesday of tournament week at the Island Green 17th hole. This is a great tradition unique to THE PLAYERS and one that provides an added layer of entertainment for the fans, players and caddies alike. The competition is named to honor Tom Watson’s longtime caddie and friend Bruce Edwards, who passed away in 2004 from ALS or “Lou Gehrig’s Disease.”

The winning caddie receives all player contributions to the pot on the 17th tee, a personalized, engraved money clip and a VIP parking spot in the TPC Sawgrass Clubhouse lot, Thursday-Sunday of THE PLAYERS.

The amount raised is matched by the PGA TOUR and donated to the Bruce Edwards Foundation.

Past results:

YearCaddieDistance to PinPGA TOUR Player
2000Ben Englebrecht5 feet 7.5 inchesSteve Flesch
   2001 (tie)Brian Smith & Ken Comboy6 feet 3 inchesJohn Huston & Thomas Bjorn
     2002Corby Segal2 feet 10 inchesBrent Geiberger
2003Chris Donald9 feet 1 inchLuke Donald
2004Robert Ames4 feet 6 inchesStephen Ames
2005Chris Jones1 foot 4 inchesMark WIlson
2006Nick Helwig6 feetHank Kuehne
2007Ray Farnell5 feet 3 inchesGreg Owen
2008Jeff Willett1 foot 5 inchesBrian Bateman
2009Garerth Lord6 feet 1 inchesRobert Karlsson
2010Jorge Camarra2 feet 6 inchesFrancesco Molinari
2011Anthony Knight9 feet 11 inchesAaron Baddeley
2012Brent Henley3 feet 7 inchesRobert Garrigus
2013James Walton4 feet 7 inches Y.E. Yang
2014Chris Callas7 feet 8 inchesShawn Stefani
2015Michael Hartford3 feet 7 inchesPat Perez
2016Jon Yarbrough5 feet 3 inchesHunter Mahan
2017Ian Finnish6 feet 11 inchesTommy Fleetwood
2018Austin Kaiser7 feet 2 inchesXander Schauffele
2019Danny Sahl4 feet 3 inchesVijay Singh
2020Aaron Flener2 feet 9 inchesJ.T. Poston